I suck at running this week and a Vegan Curry recipe

This week was a big win on the clean eating and training. I got in all my runs, as planned and met all my nutrition goals.

rockstar

Well not quite…….

Even though I got all my runs in, Friday’s 6.5KM and Saturday’s 8KM run were absolutely the worst! I had ZERO energy, “heavy legs”, and the SLOWEST pace I have ran in a long long time!

run

Seriously I contemplated why I even bother……….

IMG_0237

Pre 6.5km run I expected a good run…..after all it is a short run…….

IMG_0260

Post run……..This is bullshit

When I thought about it all I could figure is that the no carbs for 5 days had caught up with me…….

duh

Ugh……

I don’t usually try to “Diet” and train hard at the same time….this is why…….

So now I have to find a balance between loosing weight and increasing my miles……..

Friday night I added some Sweet Potato to my Supper, and I will be having more carbs everyday. There is no point of this training if I can’t even complete my runs…….I was hoping Saturday would be better for my 8km run….

IMG_0311

I set out with a good attitude

and……

IMG_0349

No fucking Dice…….Just as bad as the day before.

I guess I need to keep tweeking this meal plan to find a balance…….I only have 25 days until the NPOMR!

UGH…….

Today is just a 5km recovery run…….Hoping for more energy!

whinning

ok ok……

I was in the mood for a delicious dinner……..and a Vegan Quinoa Curry sounded perfect!

Recipe

Ingredients

  • Chop 2 onions
  • 8 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 2 inch piece ginger, minced

Sweat down until soft

IMG_0364

Add spices to taste

  • Cayenne
  • Cinnamon
  • Curry powder
  • Chili flakes
  • Cumin

Add

  • 1 Cup No salt added Vegetable stock (more as needed)
  • 1 small can of tomato paste

IMG_0367

Let it cook down for a while…..it will thicken up nicely

IMG_0368

While its cooking cook up your Quinoa …I used a Quinoa and Bulgur mix

IMG_0369

Once the Curry is all thick and delicious looking add

  • 1 can bamboo shoots
  • Wilt down about 8-12 oz baby spinach

IMG_0370

Once ready to serve stir in

  • 1/2 cup coconut milk (light)
  • 1/4 cup 0% Greek yogurt

IMG_0371

Mine was pretty spicy but delicious!

IMG_0372

Possible toppings

  • Raisins
  • Chopped cilantro
  • Green onions
  • Slivered almonds

done

Yeah that will just about do it for now!

Leave a Reply

