Mom’s 50th Suprise Party

Last Friday we packed up the car and headed to Kingston for the weekend! I was pretty tired even before we left since I worked all week and was up at 4:15 everyday…..

napMy Stepdad and I had been planning my Mom’s surprise 50th Birthday Party for a couple months and it was Father’s Day weekend……so definitely a busy couple of days laid ahead!

When we arrived in Kingston I ran around and got all the supplies….

I was making all the food/drinks for the party……and had settled on a fairly ambitious menu considering I would only have a couple hours Saturday morning to pull it off…..the party was starting at 2:30 and I had to be done cooking, showered and at my Mother’s house by 1:30 so she didn’t think anything was going on…….

I pre made the cupcakes at home and just had to do the icing once we got to my Brothers house Friday……

easy

My Father ended up coming to my Brother’s house for a BBQ and I had a glass of wine…….Then we stopped by my Mothers, she was having a BBQ with some co-workers and had asked us to stop by…….So we did and I had another glass of wine…..

bottle_gif

It was such a beautiful night out when we got back to my Brother and Sister In-laws that we decided to sit outside for a bit….and you guessed it….have some wine……

SOB

By the time I started to decorate the cupcakes I was a tad, shall we say, tipsy….

Classy

Buffy and I chatted as I decorated them and I was done in no time…..I even thought they looked pretty good and snapped a picture!

We ended up staying up pretty late. I was up around 7am to get started on the food. I went upstairs and took a peak at the Cupcakes….Holy Shit……

They looked like they were decorated by a drunk monkey…..WTF…..

IMG_7442

hahahahhaaaa……..sad

I had to scrape off all the icing and start all over……This set me back about an hour and a half….time I didn’t really have.

IMG_7624

That’s better!

I staged them on cedar planks……Made 32 Cupcakes…..

I had to send Shane out to the party store to get the last of the decorations as there was no way I had the time to go myself….

IMG_7555
Pre party

Long story short I barley finished but somehow I was done in time…..

The menu

  • Grilled Coconut Shrimp with a Mango dipping sauce
  • Guacamole
  • Tomato Salsa
  • Pineapple Salsa
  • Chicken Casadia
  • Grilled Fish Tacos with Creamy Coleslaw
  • Mango Salad
  • White Wine Sangria
  • Homemade Margaritas
  • Watermelon Punch
  • Dulce De Leche Cupcakes

I am tired again just typing it!

Everything, and I mean everything, was made from scratch……

I didn’t really have time to take many pictures of the food because I was running around like a psycho……Kinda pissed because it looked pretty good!

IMG_7590
The drinks…..They were full at the beginning of the day! This is part way through the party

All in all it was a success….she was surprised and everyone had a good time!

IMG_7517
Mom opening some gifts!

It ended up being another late night….but I am glad I had the time with my family!

IMG_7516
My nephew Cooper enjoying a Cupcake
IMG_7588
My nephew Lincoln stuffing his face!

The kids all swam in the pool and everyone enjoyed the backyard….my Brother and Buffy have a beautiful backyard and it was so nice of them to let us take over the house!

All in all I wish I had more time to sit and chat with everyone and enjoy the day…..I was too busy making sure things were cleaned up and peoples drinks were full! Oh well it is what I do!

IMG_7601

Family pic at the end of the night…….From left to right…..

Myself and Shane, Kevin(stepdad) and my Mom, Buffy and my brother Brandon, Siobhan and my brother Jeremy

Sunday, Buffy and I were up early to survey the damage…..JC…..What a mess!

mess

It took us about 2 hours to clean everything up! We showered and headed out to meet my Dad for lunch before we headed back to Toronto!

By the time we got home it was about 7pm and we were exhausted!

It was back to work Monday morning……..4:15 am wakeup times are the best!!!!!

IMG_7631

Leave a Reply

