Race re-cap…..Nike Woman’s 15K Toronto ……….Finally!!!!

Beep, Beep, Beep……

Nothing like a 4:15am wake-up call on a Sunday Morning! Right??

wrong

Shane had been nice enough to set his alarm for me as a back up……good thing since mine didn’t go off…..Weird

I jumped out of bed and checked my phone to see why the alarm didn’t go off…….

Because it was 3:15am……..He had set his clock one hour ahead by accident while setting the alarm…..

You_son_of_a_bitch

He is lucky I didn’t have a tazer handy that is all I have to say……..

I tried to go back to sleep but it wasn’t happening…….

ughhhhhh……..Bad start!

I ended up getting out of bed at 4:00 to get ready.

bull

Mark and Carla were prompt and knocking on the door at 5:00 on the dot!

I really had no idea what I was walking into as I have never done a race that started with a ferry ride! My ferry time was 6:40,

IMG_7029

I was supposed to be there 30 minutes early. I ended up arriving in plenty of time! (No small feat when doing anything with 2 Jamaican men who love running on “Caribbean time”…..I definitely threatened them within an inch of their life, so they knew to be on time…..

IMG_7030
Early morning ferry line!
IMG_7034
The ferry

It was cloudy on the way over to the island, but I was in denial optimistic that the rain would hold off. The ferry ride was about 15 minutes, not too bad………

IMG_7046
View on my way to the Island…..

The island was already a buzz when I arrived, with live music and a DJ.

IMG_7051

I called Shane and found out that they had taken a early ferry to the other side of the island and were already there…..I just had to find them! Once we met up I was able to get some pre race pictures and look around a bit……

IMG_7169

and the sun had came out….things were looking up!

IMG_7075 IMG_7124

This was a later race with the first coral starting at 9:30am……I entered my coral around 8:30 and literally 1 minute later it started to rain!

anxietyrain

And it didn’t stop…….

Shane came to the fence at my coral and held the umbrella over me…….He stayed with me until about 10 minutes before gun time…….It was still raining and I was shivering at this point! I was in coral 3 and there was 7 minutes between each coral starting…..So at 9:44 I was out of the gate!

The first 2 km was pretty packed and it was a lot of running around people…..

move

and puddle jumping. I really have to re-evaluate my coral positioning in these runs!

At this point I was pretty sure that unless the path opened up this wasn’t going to be a PR run. It stopped raining about 3 km into the run and I was able to enjoy some of the some of the scenery……It really was a beautiful run……seeing the Toronto sky line and the beautiful buildings and houses on the island……plus it was pretty cool to be running on the runway, of the island airport, and have planes taking off beside you!

Really-cool

Duhhh…..

I was hitting my marks perfectly……I wanted to do a sub 1:20 run….So I broke my run into 3km chunks in my mind……and set a goal of 16 minutes for each 3km chunk….Sticking to a 5:20 pace I would hit these times…..

So my times were

  • 3k-16m
  • 6k-32m
  • 9k-48m
  • 12k-1:04

And at 13k I planned to speed up and ultimately I was hoping to come in

around 1:19…..totally doable…..

I hit the boardwalk (I was looking forward to this part of the run so much……….so beautiful) at just over 13k…..picked up my pace and felt pretty good! All of a sudden at 13.5k I was hit with the worst cramp in between my ribs under my breast bone….It all but collapsed me on the spot. I actually could barley breath……

Brutal……..

I wanted to stop and try to stretch it out so bad, but I didn’t think that would even help so I just put some pressure on the spot and ran as best I could (which was as slow as a turtle going through molasses)

FUCK

I was swearing up a storm in my head…..WTF…..so close to the end…..

faint

I pushed through and by the time I hit the home stretch (14.5km) I think I got a bit of an adrenaline rush and finished pretty strong……

Over all the cramp cost me about 2.5 minutes, best I can calculate…..

nikerun2

I finished at 1hr 21min and 26sec

A decent time for a 15K but I am a bit disappointed because

a) I could have done better

b) It’s my own fault……

For some stupid reason I didn’t eat or drink anything on the whole run……so dumb of me I had coconut water and a homemade gel pack on me! I chose not to use them and I am pretty sure that is why I cramped……

My bad…..

I picked up my finished medal

IMG_7166

A perk for this run is the Tiffany and Co. finisher necklace……

nike necklace

There were more positives then negatives for me with this run……so even with the pain in the ass morning commute and the over crowded route I would definitely do this run again next year. I hope they can figure out a way to make it into a half marathon……I know the island is small and the 15k was even a bit of a stretch……

But still! It would be great!

Leave a Reply

