Kitchen goin’ up…..On a Tuesday……..

I decided to not take Overtime today so I could get one last long run in before the Nike Woman’s 15K this coming Sunday! When I woke up at 7 am and it was pouring rain out……..

regret

DAMN

Trying to make the best of it I decided to get a early start and go to the gym for a 9am treadmill run. Moments before going out the door I checked the weather one last time……hmmm….apparently it was going to clear up in the afternoon……

Do I risk it?

chance

Well that was uncalled for!

Decided to wait out the rain. It was also a good way to get all my meal prep done for the next few days.

I made a delicious Quinoa Salad to go with some blackened Tilapia……

Ingredients and Directions:

  • Boil 2.5 cups of water and then add
  • 1 cup rinsed Quinoa

Cook on medium heat until done and cool completely. While cooling prep vegetables

  • Seed and dice 1 English Cucumber
  • Quarter 1 pint of Cherry Tomatoes
  • Cute 5 large Radishes into matchsticks
  • Chop up a large handful of Cilantro

IMG_6777

Mix with the Quinoa once cooled

Avocado, Cilantro and Lime dressing

Ingredients and Directions:

In a food processor combine

  • 2 ripe Avocados
  • Large handful Cilantro
  • Juice of one lime
  • 1.5 Cups Greek Yogurt (0%)
  • 2 Cloves of Garlic
  • Salt and Pepper to taste

Blend until smooth (you can thin out with some cool water if it is too thick. I like it a bit thinner so this is what I do)

Dress salad right before serving!

I also was out of Power Balls so I had to make a batch. Felt like something new so decided to experiment.

Energy Brownie Bites with Peanut Butter Chips

Ingredients and Directions:

  • 500 G Dates (Pitted and soaked for 30 Minutes in hot water)

Blend dates in food processor until smooth and then add to

  • 1/2 Cup Ground Almonds
  • 1/2 Cup Organic Cocoa Powder
  • 1/4 Cup each Hemp Seeds, Ground Chia Seeds and Ground Flax
  • 1/2 Cup Peanut Butter Chips

Mix until combined (by hand) Add a touch of non-dairy Milk (Almond, Cashew) if needed to make it come together.

Roll into balls and store in air tight container in the freezer.

Yield 22-30 balls depending on size

IMG_6780

Not much to look at but they are freaking delicious! Great little pre run snack!

yumm

I have been trying to get away from anything artificial in my diet. Especially when it comes to running fuel. Things like energy drinks, gel packs ect…..I have started carrying Coconut Water during runs and I like the results so far, but all natural food options aren’t so easy. During marathon training I used Banana’s, although they worked for me they are hard to carry. I saw a recipe on Miranda Malisani’s website  (a Toronto Based nutritionist who I went to high school with) for a homemade gel pack!

Homemade Gel Pack:

(Adapted from Thrive)

Ingredients:

  • 3-4 Medjool dates
  • 1/2 cup raw honey
  • 1 tbsp organic lime & lemon zest

Sea salt to taste

IMG_6779

Directions:

  • Blend and stick in a small bag for when you need it

IMG_6782

gross-barf-puke-toddlers-tiaras

Oh don’t de so dramatic! I will try it on the 15 K run this afternoon!

The sun is peaking out…….The pavement is calling my name!

4 thoughts on “Kitchen goin’ up…..On a Tuesday……..

Leave a Reply

