16K run and it wasn’t terrible! And WIAW (I know its Thursday…..What’s your point?)

Ahhh……A day off

whatever-i-feel-like-i-wanna-do-gosh

Yeah!

Today started with something I was looking forward to!

IMG_6478A big ass bowl of Reese Puffs Cereal with Cashew Milk and Banana!

This cereal is reserved ONLY for long runs…….AKA 15K or longer!!!!

I swear I only run so I can eat……..

Here is an interesting fact……if you google that phrase a picture from my old blog comes up……Too funny!

Thats_not_funny

What       Ever!

I did a few things around the house (drank water and watched the news)

I popped a Nuun tab in my water bottle

IMG_6483

Packed up a few of these

IMG_6482

Had a couple bites of a Cliff Bar

IMG_6484

Even though I haven’t had much luck with these pre run I gave it another try…….

The run went much better then last weeks long run. Same 16K distance…..same pace (weird) but I didn’t feel like crawling in a ditch for a nap the whole way!

tumblr_mro03jPihv1sf9q6bo1_500

I also chose a harder route today. More hills and terrible terrain. The Nike run has varied terrain…….everything from grass to sand to gravel to pavement. So today I just wanted to see what that would be like. Overall not bad, but there worst part was running in the grass. I had a 1 KM portion at KM 9 that was all grass and on an angle (side of a hill) and this took a lot out of me. I did not realise running on grass was so tough. A lot of resistance.

My biggest issue was the horrible cramp I got at KM 14 that just wouldn’t go away. I knew I shouldn’t have eaten that Cliff Bar!

  • 3-The number of cars that almost ran me over
  • 2-The number of times I tripped/almost fell
  • 1-The number of dogs that chased me
  • 0-The number of times I felt like quitting!!!!

growling-dog1

Success!

large

I was kinda in a hurry when I got back so I showered quick and made, what Shane would call, a Power Shake, for the road.

IMG_6500

IMG_6521

I went to the Garden Centre and picked up some new Tomato plants to replace the ones killed in the frost!

I also knew I needed new shoes and since the Nike 15K is in 10 days I had to get them today so I can break them in a bit before the run………I didn’t have a ton of time so I went to Sport Chek

IMG_6532

So many choices……I was able to get a pair (and a new running outfit for the Nike 15K)

I will review the shoes tomorrow! Stay tuned!

edge of seat

Watch it……No one like a wise guy!

I was STARVING when I finally got home……glad I had Turkey Burgers made. I was craving some sweet potato fries! They are my favorite!

IMG_6533

Totally hit the spot!

Side note: My peonies are open!

IMG_6486

Love them!

 

Leave a Reply

