My Frostbitten Garden and a HIIT Run

Someone got a little cocky and planted her garden a week or two earlier then normal!

thatsme

Ahhh….Shit…….

I knew the temperature was dropping so I covered the Vegetable Garden 3 nights in a row with tarps…..Apparently it wasn’t enough and my pretty garden went from this……

IMG_5936

To this…….

IMG_6028
Heirloom Tomato Plant

IMG_6029
Yellow Boy Tomato Plant

IMG_6030
Basil

IMG_6031
Zucchini Plant
So this is the worst of it…..Some of the plants are fine…..It has really warmed up and should stay hot now…..So I am hoping with some water, sun and a lot of LOVE just maybe I can bring them back! I am hoping so….I really do not want to replant!!!!!

mistake

Even my front planters got a touch of frost bite…….poor things!

IMG_6022

Stupid frost!!!!

Lesson learned.

I worked all weekend 7-7 so I didn’t get a run in but I managed to do one after my Overtime 6-2 shift today.

I only had about 4.5 hours of sleep so I really just wanted to go home and nap but I knew I would kick myself if I didn’t get a run in.

IMG_6036
Yikes……Bad hair day much!?
hair

I decided to do 400Meter sprint repeats. After a quick 1KM warm up I started the sprints, held a ok pace and managed to do 400Meter x 10 and then a 1KM cool down……Overall not bad….These HIIT runs really make a huge difference in my running and I need to make sure I am getting in one a week!

Had a quick dinner as I have lots of meals prepped and just had to warm something up…….

IMG_6081
Turkey Meatloaf with roasted Sweat Potato and Green Beans
As long as I don’t get called in last minute tomorrow I will get in at least a 10KM run………

Oh yeah!

One of my long time Besties  ran her first Half Marathon yesterday. The Ottawa Scotia Bank Race Weekend Half Marathon

melissa
Melissa -bib19205
I am so incredibly proud of her!!!! She has wanted to be a runner for a long time and went from not running at all to finishing her first half! I only wish we lived closer so we could be running buddies!!!! Love this girl! Way to go Smelissa!!!!

Nothing-Beats-Making-Mom-Proud

Leave a Reply

