FAIL

I ran 8 KM Friday, 10 KM Saturday (yesterday) and since I have to work Monday-Wednesday 12 Hour shifts I figured I would go ahead and get my long run in today……….16KM

regret

I mapped out a lovely and scenic route that I had never done before………

IMG_5940

It was such a beautiful morning and I didn’t want to waste it…..even though I knew I should have just did a shorter run today…..I had a Salt Stick….(I love these for long hot runs) before I left

salt_stick_electrolyte

I brought  2 more with me to have at km 5 and 10 …….(more on this later)

I set a slow training pace of 6:15KM (I always train my long runs at 1KM slower then race pace, and since I am aiming to run the Nike Woman’s 15K at a 5:15KM Pace(sub 1hr 20min) this seamed like a good idea).

nope

I quickly realised it wasn’t going to be my day……First of all I forgot to reset my Garmin so when I started it, it continued on from yesterdays run……Took me about a half a KM to figure this out……..

Fine…..as long as that was all that went wrong……but we know that it wasn’t…..

By 2 KM in I needed to go to the washroom…….Annoying but I just ignored it……

Another Garmin malfunction…..I had to stop at the longest traffic light in history so I paused it for a second…..Big Mistake…….Forgot to start it again……I have no idea how far I went before I figured this out……I found my grove and hit my pace……Tried to put it behind me but my stars were just not lined up today…….

oops

As I mentioned this was a new route and I am about as directionally challenged as they come……I was enjoying the scenery around 12KM in …..I looked around….and something wasn’t quite right…..I don’t remember planning my route to go on a major highway…….and I was feeling a bit nauseous as well…….hmmmm…..I stopped and pulled up the gps on my phone……yep…..lost as hell……SOB

lost

So by my calculations I was more then a couple KM’s off my route and had to turn around……I was out of water and salt sticks….

I ended up having to call Shane to come get me about 2 KM from home…..I was at the point I was going to Throw up. I was already way past my 16 KM’s and could not even contemplate doing even 2 more KM at this point…….

With all my Garmin issues I don’t even know how far I went and quite frankly I don’t give a shit! I do know my pace was steady at 6:00-6:15KM…….fine for a training run…….

Once I got home I thought I might be dehydrated or something so I grabbed the salt sticks and here is where I realized what an Idiot I am……..In my hurry to get out the door I had taken 200mg Caffeine pills…..So I had taken 600mg of Caffeine!!! ..No wonder I was going to throw up and felt like I was having heart palpations……..Seriously…..How did I not know….they don’t even look the same…..The bottles are similar but the pills are completely different……

i_fucked_up_will_ferrell

So it took about two hours to not feel like I was going to hurl…….a wasted 2 hours as I had so much to do!

Somehow I managed to get the Garden planted! I am happy about this!

IMG_5936

Yeah! I will still have to steak the Tomato plants when they get a bit bigger!

Dinner is simple….Steaks on the BBQ and some Rapini and Sweet Potatoes ………..

Goal for this week……..

Pay attention to what I am doing!!

alright

5 thoughts on “FAIL

Leave a Reply

