10k Race Recap! And no froyo for me………

Not gonna lie! I was pretty pumped for this run today! I was up at 6:30 ……..giphyreadySure am…….Before I left I packed up some goodies for me and KFG

IMG_4657
Power Balls A Protein Shake Water and Pre Work-out

My stomach was feeling a bit off and I have been getting cramps while running lately, so I decided to just have a small snack…..

IMG_4661
Ezekiel bread with chocolate PB and 1/2 a banana

This actually sat pretty well. I didn’t want to have a big coffee so I just grabbed a double Espresso

IMG_4663

I got to KFG’s house around 8:20 am. This run started a bit later then a usual run, but that was actually a good thing as it had time to warm up a bit.

11174987_10152897931392685_8825502675384612663_n

Pre-race before we left the house!!

We got to the race site about 45 minutes before the race started….there was lots of parking and people milling around everywhere……..Of course the first place I had to go was to the porta pottys……

pee

It certainly is not……

We were freezing so we went back and sat in the car again with the heat cranked up until about 15 before the start.

IMG_4712

Once we got up the nerve to get back out of the car we headed to the start line…..snapping 251   a couple pictures on the way……Here is the highlight reel …..lucky you

IMG_4668IMG_4672

IMG_4685IMG_4675

 

IMG_4748IMG_4742

 

There was a couple hundred people ready to get moving…..it was a pretty good atmosphere and it seamed very organised……

IMG_4767IMG_4749

And away we go………

agame

We stared strong…..I always get too excited at the beginning of a race and forget to start pacing right away……It is too easy to get caught up in the excitement and go too fast…….Over all the course was pretty good. I was afraid we were starting off a bit strong so after KM 2 we slowed down for a couple KM……Didn’t wanna run out of steam! There was a couple up hills in the last 3 km’s but nothing crazy……I am still waiting on the results to be posted but here are my Garmin times

  • 1 KM-5:23
  • 2 KM-5:16
  • 3 KM-5:27
  • 4 KM-5:29
  • 5 KM-5:19
  • 6 KM-5:10
  • 7 KM-5:19
  • 8 KM-5:20
  • 9 KM-5:21
  • 10 KM-5:04

Average pace 5:18 per KM- Garmin Time just over 53 Min……I’ll post the official time as soon as it is up…

emotion

Alright maybe that is a bit dramatic but I am happy with that time.

IMG_4771
KFG Post race
IMG_4773
Me Post race

IMG_4786

For some reason we took all our post race pictures with these stupid cups in our hands…..

why

Whatever…..

I was pretty stoked for froyo…..we had been planning it all week….I think we actually only ran the race so we could go to Yogurty’s and get 8lbs of candy over 1/4 cup of froyo…..We got there……..

IMG_4787
KRF excited to go in…..

And then disaster struck…….

IMG_4792

CLOSED………WTF…..Seriously……

brah2

NOT COOL……So not cool……

So we had to settle for the NEW Oreo Iced Cap…….Meh…..

IMG_4794

Verdict

gross_no_thank_you_supernatural

6 thoughts on “10k Race Recap! And no froyo for me………

Leave a Reply

