What I Ate Wednesday (WIAW)

Since I have only been doing this blog for a couple weeks I haven’t really established any rhyme or reason to it yet! I like the freedom of posting whatever I want whenever I feel like posting it, but sometimes its nice to have some predictability!

So considering I cook and bake daily I will try to do What I Ate Wednesday! (WIAW), posting any recipes from the week that I consider worthy of sharing! I will also post the good, the bad and the ugly of what I have been eating!

what

Yep……exciting eh!

I tend to eat the same things most of the time, unless I have a bit of a craving for something specific. I definitely have some basic go to meals. Work meals tend to look like this….

IMG_3120
Salads for a few days!
april12
Good ol’ broccoli and chicken

 

I tend to be a lot more creative on days off (obviously) as I have more time.

First off my day can not start without Coffee. On my days off I am able to make my Coconut Oil Coffee

Add one cup of hot coffee to your blender with 1 teaspoon of Coconut Oil and a touch of Stevia (if wanted) blend until frothy

coconut4
Coconut Oil Coffee

This is creamy, frothy and just plain delicious. Give it a try!

Typical breakfast on days off could include

IMG_3124

Grapefruit

  • Set oven to broil
  • Cut in half
  • Sprinkle Stevia and Cinnamon
  • Broil in oven for approximately 5 minutes

This is the only way I eat Grapefruit. It is way more tasty and juicy when you heat it this way……

IMG_3125

PB&J Cottage Cheese

  • 1/2 Cup Cottage Cheese
  • 2 TBSP PB2 reconstituted with water
  • 1 teaspoon of jam or jelly of choice

This is so freaking delicious

I will usually head to the gym or out for a run after this, and when I return I am famished. I have to make something right away or this might happen

hungry

So the easiest and quickest thing is a smoothie

My go to would be a Green Monster Smoothie or a Smoothie Bowl

I have a million Smoothie recipes and I will post those often. Here is a Smoothie Bowl recipe. This is kind of my standard base recipe you can modify the add on’s for your taste.

  • 1/4 cup old fashion oats
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 1 tbsp Chia Seed
    mix together with 1/2 cup almond milk-Let sit for a minimum of 15 minutes or as long as overnight
    Add to the blender with
  • 1 frozen banana
  • 1/2 cup Greek yogurt
  • 2 tbsp organic protein powder
  • and 1/3 cup almond milk
  • 1 teaspoon Xanthan Gum
  • Blend, pour into a bowl and add some berries of your choice…..

smoothie bowlIn the evenings I try to keep it fairly low carb if I can. Sometimes on the weekends I’ll make something like a Spelt Pizza as we have longer workouts and need the carbs.

Butternut and Arugula Spelt Pizza

Directions

  • Peal and dice a Butternut Squash, coat in EVOO and roast at 400C until brown and cooked through
  • Slice a few onions thinly and cook down in frying pan until soft and caramelized

Spelt Crust

  • 2 Cups Spelt Flour
  • pinch of salt
  • Add warm water until it comes together

Kneed into a ball and let rest, covered for at least 30 min

Roll out the curst and top with

  • Caramelized Onions
  • Cubed Butternut Squash
  • Goat Cheese

Bake at 400C until crust is cooked. Remove from oven and top with

  • Lots of fresh Arugula
  • Drizzle Balsamic Reduction oven the pizza
IMG_3119
Butternut Squash and Arugula Spelt Pizza

Fish Tacos

Dry Rubs

Mix together

  • 1 TBSP Chili Powder
  • 1 TBSP Garlic Powder
  • 3 TBSP Smoked Paprika
  • 1 teaspoon Cumin
  • Fresh Cracked Pepper
  • Sea Salt

Rub on white fish of your choice and grill or bake

Coleslaw

Mix together

  • 3 TBSP Greek Yogurt (0% plain)
  • 2 TBSP White Wine Vinegar
  • 1 TPBS Honey
  • Salt  and Pepper

Add in a couple cups of pre shredded Coleslaw Mix and allow to sit for at least one hour

Pickled Radish

Take a mason jar and fill with thinly sliced Radishes. Fill with white vinegar that has been brought to boiling with a couple TBSP Honey mixed in. Allow to sit minimum overnight and up to two weeks.

To assemble

  • I used Corn Tortillas but your can used any type you want including Lettuce Wraps if you are low carbing it.
  • Spread fresh Avocado on the base and top with Coleslaw, Radishes and Fish.
  • Top with a squeeze of Lime and a dollop of Greek Yogurt if wanted
fish taco
Fish Tacos

obvious2

3 thoughts on “What I Ate Wednesday (WIAW)

  1. Bahahaha!!! The Nutty Professor lol 😀 and the pizza and fish tacos look super yummy … ummm suddenly I’m now hungry and it’s still over an hour until lunch … UGH!!! :/

    Like

Leave a Reply

