Shane’s Story

Shane’s Journey

Shane and I have been together over 3 years now, and I thought I would share his journey too.

Shane and i when we first started dating

 

At the beginning it was more casual dating as we were both just getting out of long term relationships. When we first started dating we were both in great shape. He has always worked out, and since I have known him he has always been a pretty big,  muscular guy. Sports has always been a huge part of his life. 

 In 2011, he was going through a divorce, and wasn’t in a great place. Between 2011 and 2013 his lifestyle changed, but not for the better. He was eating and drinking more (using these as coping mechanisms for all the chaos in his life) and working out less and less. He went from 208 pounds to almost 235 pounds, and I don’t think he really even cared.

Shane is the type of person who needs stability, and the uncertainty of divorce and starting over really got to him. It took him until the summer of 2014 to really come around and want to fix his lifestyle. I have always been supportive of him and never pushed anything on him. I knew that because he had always been in shape and working out had been part of him for so long that he would come back!!! (They always do, working out is such a drug in itself).

He told me he wanted to get back in shape when he saw this picture……

August. 2014

At this point I had put on some pounds due to some other health issues (which I will discuss later) so I agreed to do the reset with him. I drew up a eating plan and starting August 25, 2014 we began. I took before pictures for him because I wanted him to see the progression and knew that he would drop the weight quickly if he stuck to the plan. 

Definately lookinh swollen

 

I bought him a little book, and told him to write down everything he eats (and since he is such a creature of habit, he is still writing in the book everyday even now, 7 months later).

I am definitely the cook in our household and I like it that way. He takes care of so many other things, the least I can do is make sure he always has nutritious and delicious (as much as possible) food available to him. I packed his lunches (as I always have) but now with strict instruction that he eats NOTHING ELSE but what I make. And just like I though, the weight all but melted off him.

Initially he set a goal of going from 235 pounds to 200 pounds, but he quickly surpassed that and reset his goal for 195 pounds. On December 13, 2014 we did his final weigh in and 192 pounds meant over 40 pounds lost! We took some pictures and the side by side comparison is definitely something to be proud of! 

      

He has maintained his weight loss and is very happy with his journey, and I couldn’t be more proud of him for staying with it and making the changes necessary to stay healthy!

   

2 thoughts on “Shane’s Story

Leave a Reply

